Monday, September 12, 2011

2011 Yoruba Heritage Award Achievment/Recognition Awardees

The Yoruba Heritage Awards (YOHA) is pleased to announce the official names of Recognition/
Achievement/Awardees in the 2nd Annual   YOHA AWARDS taking place in London, England on October 14, 2011 respectively. The awards was founded as an avenue to celebrate fellow indigenes of Yoruba ancestry that have made positive impact on a large scale. These individuals were selected based on merit, leadership and impact made in their respected communities.

YHA celebrating its 2nd year has determined to promote and celebrate their fellow Hero’s and Heroines of Yoruba ancestry based abroad.

 Categories vary from entertainment to corporate sector

Voting is still in session for the nominees, for more info visit


Life Achievement Awardees
Are Afe Babalola

Recognition Awardees

Yoruba Man of The Year
Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu :2011-2012

Best Yoruba Senator of The Year :2010-2011
Senator Olorunnimbe Mamora

Corporate Category

Chief Femi Adekola- World Bank

Senator Eng. Anthony Adefuye- Chairman, Aresco LTD

-Property -
Mr. Bode Adedeji- President, Nigerian Institution of Estate Surveyor and Value.
Dr Rotimi Olulana- Managing Director, Rolan and Associate

Hon Tunji Shelle- Secretary, PDP Lagos State

Chief John Kolawale- Secretary General, Trade Union Congress
Comrade Tokunbo Korodo- Zonal Chairman, NUPENG Lagos State

-Road Safety-
Mr. Patrick Adenusi –National Cordinator,
Safety Border Road

Artistry/Culture Category
Professor Tunde Babawale
Professor Rasaki Ojo Bakare- Abuja Carnival
Otunba Gani Adams- Chief Promoter, Olokun Festival
Comrade (DR) Aderibole Philip Olumide- Founder, CEO Yoruba Indigene Foundation

Media Category
Mrs. Oluremi Oyo- MD Nigerian News Agency
Mr. Deji Elemoye- Chairman of Nigerian Union of Journalist, Lagos State

Best Television Presenter of The Year
Mrs. Yinka Ogundimu-

Best Yoruba Program of The Year
Owurolawa on LTV 8-

Best Male Music Producer of The Year
Oluwalere Taiwo Gbenga Leo

Charitable Category
Bishop Kayode Williams- Founder-Prison Welfare

Education Category
Lady Modupe Olaiya- Proprietress, Shadel Group of Schools

Non- Yoruba Award
Ms. Stella Din- Media, Broadcast Journalism Award
Barrister Onu Eke Uche- Fmr. Secretary, Consumer Right Project Award in Consumer Promotion in Nigeria

United Kingdom

Achievement  Awardees

Entertainment Category
 Mr .Adebayo Jones- Fashion
Baba Najeed Mayegun- Boxing

Recognition Awardees

Best Male Fundraiser of The Year
Mr. Sam Onigbanjo

Corporate Category
Mrs. Nikki Seyi Ojikutu –Nursing

Media Category
Mr. Ogundele- Director of Media, UN- Austria/Chairman-NIDO Austria

United States/Canada

Achievement Awardees

Entertainment Category
Mr. Fatai Atere MON- Sports Achievement Award
Mr. Ademola Oyefeso- Entertainment Achievement Award

Corporate Category
Dr. Olufunmilayo Olopade –Health Achievement Award (US Cancer Advisory Board-Obama Administration)
Ambassador Abiodun Bashua- Achievement Award in Politics

Recognition Awardees

Entertainment Category
 Mr.Segun Olaleye aka Segun Gele- Fashion Recognition Awards –USA
Hajia Mariam Alli - Fashion Recognition Award – Canada
 Chief Yinka Farinde- Best Promoter- Canada
 Mr. Waheed Adelakun aka Wadeco- Best Promoter –USA

- Hospitality Recognition AwardUSA
Mrs. Moji Adewale aka Mama Duncan

Yoruba Youth of The Year

Mr. Seyi Ogunlusi- President/Founder Yoruba Youth Corporation